SEGMENT 1 INFORMATION
It is the parents and/or students' responsibility to know the requirements for any segment courses they are enrolling in. Please make sure to use the students full legal name when enrolling them in one of our Segment 1 courses. We need to have the students first, middle, and last name.
In Michigan, a teen must be at least 14 years and 8 months old to begin Segment 1 of the Graduated Driver License program (GDL). Graduated Driver License Program, consists of two segments of driver education classes and three licensing levels. Segment 1 includes 24 hours of classroom instruction; and a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instructions (BTW); and a minimum of 4 hours of observation time as a passenger in the training vehicle.
Segment 1 requirements are regulations required by the state of Michigan. These requirements will need to be met before the first day of the course. Students will need to have their birth certificate or state I.D. with them when they come to class on the first day. Our instructors are required to verify that every student enrolled in our segment 1 courses are 14 years and 8 months of age or older. These documents are used for verification purposes only. Michigan Driving School only requires verification of age. We do not need or make copies of any student's personal Identification documents. They are used for verification purposes only. The state has recently changed the way driver education certificates are given. Your student will no longer receive a green certification of completion card after completing their Segment 1 course. The student will receive a printed document upon completion of their Segment 1 course. The student will then be able to make an appointment at the secretary of state any time after the completion date on your students printed certificate. The state will then give them a level 1 learners license. Their level 1 learners license will be a plastic card with their picture on it. The state will no longer be given the paper level 1 learners license like they have done in the pass. If you have any questions about the new process or any other questions about our Segment 1 course, please feel free to email us at: firstname.lastname@example.org or call us at: 586-775-4400 which is the driver education direct line.